Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,849 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After much reading here I have reached saturation and confusion point on coming up with tube selection for a custom steel 29er HT frame, and kindly ask for your help...

My frame is going to be a long fork travel (120mm) slacked out 29er trail bike. I would like a compliant and lively ride if these two attributes can co-exist. I am 190lbs and will do small drops (1-2'), more often than not badly so flat heavy landings are a likely.

I have been riding a Niner SIR 9 for the last two years and love it's feel, which I would describe as springy and very nicely compliant. Comfortable for long rides and will smooth out the roughest of trail.

I was going to just try and clone the 853 SIR with my geo changes, but then learned of Columbus and True Temper tubing, which maybe better suited, but I don't know. This goes for rear triangle tube choice too and what makes for a compliant ride here.

Here is a drawing of a ti bike I was thinking of going for before deciding on steel, but the sizing is correct. The only difference I am hoping for with the steel frame is having a curved TT for more standover

Attachments

·
Premium Member
7,491 Posts
Who is building this bike?

If you're having it built by a professional builder, talk to them first.

If you're building it, use a 38mm DT and whatever other stuff you think is appropriate. The Nova 29er kit might be a good choice, as it's inexpensive and forgiving of mistakes. Throw your ideas about the spiffiest/lightest/trickest tubing out the window - using that stuff for your first attempt will just lead to frustration and wasted money/time.

Does anyone want to volunteer to do a "what tubes" writeup for the FAQ?

-Walt

·
Registered
714 Posts
Walt said:

-Walt
How good is the Henry James tubeset list in his price list for this? It specs rider weight and how compliant the frame would be with said tubes.