Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
758 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I am a newbie at SS but have a local trail that I will be riding a few times a week while my daughter is at hockey practice. Her practice last 3 hours between dryland and on ice so I don't want to sit there the whole time. There is a trail about 3 miles from the rink and it is a 7-8 mile loop. Great singletrack ride with a lot of up's and down's. The trail is Maybury which is in the metro Detroit area of Michigan so there are no long up hills. The trail includes a lot of turns and rolling hills. Nothing to taxing so I thought getting a SS would really improve my riding and make this trail a lot more challenging.

Alittle background on me I am 5'6", weigh 172 lbs and am 45 year old. I currently own a Ibis Ripley, Ventana El Padrino and a Ventana El Bastardo(which I am trying to sell). I love all 3 bikes but have found that the Ripley is my favorite so the Bastardo is expendable. I also love my El Padrino and thought about getting his brother the El Commandante for my SS but I don't want to invest that much into my first SS.

So I think I have gotten it down to 3 bikes. I want to buy it from a local dealer and these 3 bikes can be had from a local dealer. So what I am looking at is the Salsa El March, Trek Rig and the Spec Crave. I can't test ride any and the builds are similar. I know the Spec & Trek are Alum and the Salsa is Steel. I know the Spec will be 3 pounds lighter than the Salsa but also ride a tad harder since it is Alum.

The trail I will be riding is very rooty and rocky. I also like the Salsa/Trek dealer a lot more than the Spec dealer. Just wondering what you SS guys have to say about this. Let me know your thoughts.

Thanks,

Chuck

·
Registered
968 Posts
Chuck- I agree with Andy R, the El Mariachi would be my choice...

Also, great work taking advantage of hockey-dad status!

·
Registered
758 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·