Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have been running these for about 2 months. Fantastic power, modulation, etc.

Only issue is that there is no contact adjust and the lever comes WAY back to the bar before you get full bite. Only on the rear break though. Front it perfect. Note:

- Not worn out rotor
- New or newish pads
- Fresh bleeds multiple times with no air escaping

I can't find anything online, but it just seems like a thicker rotor or something would eliminate this. Running shimano rotors that are 1.8mm when brand new. Have tried "top off" lever only bleeds etc to try and overfill the system, but it doesn't help.

Anyone else?

·
Registered
120 Posts
I have the same situation, rear brake pulls really far...going to re bleed soon and may also change pads to see if this improves things.

Did you use a bleed block?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have the same situation, rear brake pulls really far...going to re bleed soon and may also change pads to see if this improves things.

Did you use a bleed block?

Yep, used the bleed block from the TRP "shop" bleed kit with the super nice syringes.

One thought was to shave down the bleed block about .3-.5mm, but then I bet I would have rotor rub at all times.

·
Registered
2,379 Posts
Interesting that you say it only happens to the rear brake, and not the front. Because, the calipers are the same, its just hose length/routing differences that make them different.

In my mind, that means you have pretty much 2 likely issues.

1) The longer hose, and more complicated routing for the rear means more bleed issues are possible (again, as the calipers are the same either way, and the fronts are fine).

2)There is an outside chance that you could have different thickness rotors front and rear. Seems unlikely... but not sure what else could cause the issue.

Here are a few random questions for you.