Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
New to the forum so I apologize if I make any mistakes!

I've been riding bikes for a while, and recently I've decided to step it up and get into mainly trail riding and amatuer downhill riding, as well as a little bit of cross country and commuting. I've been looking at the Trek X-Caliber 7 and the Specialized Rockhopper 29, whilst also considering a Specialized Hardrock or X-Caliber 5 but they're lower options and I'm not sure if they're a good choice. The X Caliber and Rockhopper both look quite similar in specs, and they both look like great bikes to me, but as I am new to the sport I wasn't sure if they are any good from an experienced point of view. I'm also on a <$1000 budget, and $900 is pretty much my max. I was also attracted to Trek and Specialized as they're big brands and would be easy to get in my area.
Cheers,
Booker

·
Registered
14 Posts
I hear Trek is running a 15% off sale in April. If you can hold out until then you may be able to get a higher end model for under 1000.

·
Registered
97 Posts
Yes, the parts spec looks pretty similar on both bikes. However, I would definitely choose the Trek X-cal with Shimano brakes over the lower end Tektros that come on the Specialized.

·
Registered
117 Posts
Trek, but I would go with the Xcal 8 for $949. It's worth the increase in budget. I actually just bought the Xcal 9 a week ago and I am in love. Such a difference riding a 29er makes over tree roots

For what it is worth I was going to buy the Xcal 8 myself, but I decided to up my budget, the second I did I ended up upgrading pedals, grips, saddle, fenders, I am pretty close to about 2 grand in now.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·