Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

This is my first time on the forums! I just purchased a Trek X-Caliber 4 from a bike shop yesterday, and had a question. I am 5'6" and I got a 17.5" frame. The bike rides extremely smoothly, especially when compared to my previous bikes, since this is the first time I've owned a bike actually meant to be ridden. Anyhow, I've had issues coming to a stop at intersections and standing with the bike. My legs do not reach the floor, and I sometimes I have to get off the saddle to be stagnant at an intersection. Is this normal? Or is the bike too big? And if it isn't, then what are some good ways to come to a halt and still be able to comfortably stand with the bicycle? It feels like the bike is a little big because I've never ridden a bike with a proper frame size.

Anyways hope you guys can help me out, and thanks in advance! :D Bicycle tire Bicycle frame Bicycle wheel Tire Wheel

·
Registered
12 Posts
I don't have much in the way of help to offer, but I'm the same height and also in the market for my 1st bike. The staff at a couple of the LBS I've visited have all recommended a 15.5 frame for me as it gave me good extension without being too tall (I'm a 29" inseam). Did you happen to get fitted prior to selecting the 17.5?

·
Registered
1,197 Posts
Dept store bikes are meant to be ridden on street with getting on/off motion in mind, which typically translates to geometry that let you transition from riding to standing with both feet on the ground with minimal effort.