Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm very new to mt bikes... rode bmx 20 years ago and very little on the road since then. when I first started looking I was drawn to the Marlin 6 but then I found the Talon 3. What I am trying to figure out is what makes the Marlin worth $100 more? They seem to be comparable bikes to me. Am I Overlooking something?

·
jcd's best friend
3,406 Posts
Usually the fork and drivetrain components will be the $100 difference in price. Sometimes it's the frame material such as the tier of aluminum used. Looking at both of those bikes, the $100 difference may just be the manufacturer wanting a few more bucks out of the deal. If you see yourself out growing that bike rather quickly, I would save around $1k to buy your first mountain bike. Doing so will get you into the next tier of bikes that will let you have a bit more fun with better components.

On this forum, we've had a few posts about riders who bought a starter bike and ended up selling it a month later to buy the next tier up. For around $1k, you can get yourself a really nice Diamondback Sync'r! They do go on sale every now and then and will drop under $1k.

https://www.diamondback.com/mountain-bikes/hardtail/syncr-d42

Also if you are patient, you can get some really good end of season deals on 2019 bike models too! Most of these deals may pop up sometime in August and through the fall.

·
Registered
39 Posts
They are pretty comparable, the only real difference I can find in components his the giant has an acera rear derailleur versus the altus onthe trek. The Acera is a better/smoother derailleur according to everything I've read.
there are the thing that would make a difference to me is the giant is a 27.5 versus the 29er trek, I like 27.5 better personally, 29's just seemed big and slow on the bikes I test rode.