Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey so I am relatively new to mountain biking and I just got the trek marlin 5 2021. I want to upgrade to a 1x10 or 1x12 and I had my eye on the Box three prime 9 groupset and I don't know if that will fit do you have any suggestions on what other options I might have.

Here is the Groupset

·
Registered
12,142 Posts
you'll need to buy a new crankset as well, because the crankset on the Marlin 5 appears to have the chainrings riveted together. that's most likely going to set you back another $100 plus labor if you don't have all the tools needed to remove the current crankset and bottom bracket and install a new one.

unsolicited advice: how long ago did you buy this bike? can you return it? upgrading anything on it is going to quickly become much more expensive than just buying a Marlin 7.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
you'll need to buy a new crankset as well, because the crankset on the Marlin 5 appears to have the chainrings riveted together. that's most likely going to set you back another $100 plus labor if you don't have all the tools needed to remove the current crankset and bottom bracket and install a new one.

unsolicited advice: how long ago did you buy this bike? can you return it? upgrading anything on it is going to quickly become much more expensive than just buying a Marlin 7.
I bought this bike about 4 weeks ago, I am in michigan and I went to ohio to get my bike to I can't really return my bike right now. And I was on a really tight budget or else I would have bought the 7

·
Registered
12,142 Posts
buy a new crankset and the Box kit you posted. you'll also need tools or pay a shop to do it. don't think too hard about the fact that your upgraded Marlin 5 will now cost more than a Marlin 7.

·
Registered
24 Posts