Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i bought a trek 4500 about four years ago and i'm just now starting to get into mountain biking. i'm still learning about bikes but from what i understand the stock components on the 4500 are pretty poor. once i save up some money, what should be the first to be replaced?

·
Registered
116 Posts
chungaroo

I have an 2004 4500. Your bike may have somewhat different components due to it's age. Let me say this, my bike rides fairly nice (in my opinion) for the price I paid. I haven't had it long enough and I'm too new to MB to be able to make lots of easy upgrades just yet.

However, I do have a few opinions that my enhance your experience on the bike and not be a total waste of money.

1. Upgrade the pedals. I put some low end metal pedals with toe clips on the bike. I cannot justify the cost of (decient) clipless pedals and (decient) dedicated shoes but toe clips are a big improvement.

2. Seat, anything is better than the one that TREK supplies. I think I spent about $40.00 on a new one

That is the extent of my upgrades. I want to get an inexpensive computer soon. Maybe next year I will upgrade the front derailer to the deore like the rear, although the one that came with it has not been any trouble. Also, I would like to upgrade the crank/chain wheel. When/If I make any of the drive train upgrades, I will put my old stuff on my son or daughters bike. I wouldn't just throw away the old components. We have 4 mountain bikes, three of them are TREKS. If I stick with this sport/hobby long enough, I'm going to some time get a bike in the $1000.00 to $1200.00 range. A lot of it has to do with how much my kids participate in the hobby.