Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just getting started in MTBing. Right now I have an old 199somthin Diamondback Ascent (hardtail, no shock fork) :p . It sucks. It is only a 19" frame and I am 6'5 and about 260lbs. I am looking at getting the Trek 4500 because the frame goes up to 24". I ride XC and I mainly stick to the trail. I'm not hardcore......yet :(

Is this 4500 right for me? If not, could you reccommend a better bike for under $600.

thanks

·
Registered
301 Posts
Zoltan said:
I am just getting started in MTBing. Right now I have an old 199somthin Diamondback Ascent (hardtail, no shock fork) :p . It sucks. It is only a 19" frame and I am 6'5 and about 260lbs. I am looking at getting the Trek 4500 because the frame goes up to 24". I ride XC and I mainly stick to the trail. I'm not hardcore......yet :(

Is this 4500 right for me? If not, could you reccommend a better bike for under $600.

thanks
Go to your LBS and test ride one. That's the best way of really knowing if the bikes going is going to fit you.

As I said before best bang for your buck would be a Giant. I think the Iguaua is in that $600 price range. The compoents are more less about the same between the two, but the Iguaua comes with a better fork I think.

Both bikes should be find for XC.

·
suck it trebeK
418 Posts
I am also relatively newb to MTBing and I have the Trek 4100. The 4500 is 2 steps up from mine, so you'll get an adjustable shock, and better front and rear derailleurs (maybe something else too im not sure). I'm using it as a bike to get better on, a kind of beater bike, and then will upgrade sometime in the future when my skills match :D So far it's been great for that purpose!