Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
272 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got a Trail or Park frame as payment of a debt, I am in the middle 40 so DJ or park is out of question to me, although I can use it as urban I mean for playing around some boneyhops and newbie tricks just for fun.
I can built a nice rig with some left overs but the question for you guys if I must put gears on or not.
I would like to hear the pros and cons of the two choices

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
236 Posts
I like single speed DJ/Pumptrack/fun bikes.

SS:
Pro-simple, durable
Cons - limits trail-ability

Geared:
Pro-gears allow for climbing and better trail manners(although you can barely sit down on a DJ)
Cons-Durability, complexity

·
Registered
272 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
O.K this is my first project

Transition Trail or Park
Fox Vanilla 100
Truvative Bars
Race face Deus headset
Hope Pro II front / DT Swiss 240s SS Hubs
Mavic 729's
Truvarive Stylo 175mm cranks
32 T chainwheel
Z chain
Thompson Stem
Chris King 15 T SS cog
WTB Jaxson V Seat
Avid BB7 Brake
Tyres ?? (I got some slicks ones but they are 1.95 wide)

What do you think ??

·
Registered
1,016 Posts
single speed is it. no noise from chain slap. nothing to break and no extra cables. Cheaper too. Be careful though! Always use chains designed for ss, as well as chainrings and cogs that are meant for ss. Anything else is asking for pain

·
'18 Transition Sentinel
1,015 Posts
SS-specific cog/chainring/chain

boostin said:
Always use chains designed for ss, as well as chainrings and cogs that are meant for ss. Anything else is asking for pain
I'm a DJ and SS newb, and trying to learn about SS-specific cog/chainring/chain (with a freehub SS conversion).