Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I've just bought my first full sus bike - it's the 2007 Trance 2, which I managed to haggle a significant discount with my LBS so I'm well happy!!

As a complete novice to full sus rigs, I was wondering how many clicks of rebound on the rear shock you people ride with? I've matched my PSI to my bodyweight at 155, which seems to give me the exact amount of recommended sag.

Hope this isn't too much of a dumb question.... just that I don't really feel experienced enough to go with my own judgement quite yet.

The riding I do is nothing extreme - a weekly blast down some rooty forest single track, rarely get airborne, when I do it's only about a foot or so.

Hope you lot can point me in the right direction!

Cheers,
Neil.

· mmm
947 Posts
It's different for everyone. Easiest way is to start with rebound all the way fast.

Ride off a curb. If you feel the rear bounce more than once. Turn the rebound down a click.

Repeat above until the shock only compresses once from the curb drop.

· Registered
23,945 Posts
Tried and trusted

TH has it right, that's the best way to get a starting point before you head out onto some trails. Then once you're out on the trails adjust to suit.

timehoc said:
It's different for everyone. Easiest way is to start with rebound all the way fast.

Ride off a curb. If you feel the rear bounce more than once. Turn the rebound down a click.

Repeat above until the shock only compresses once from the curb drop.

· Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks, I've just tried the kerb test and I only seem to need two clicks of dampening from a possible 8. doesn't seem much..... is it because (being a lightweight) I'm running it at a fairly low psi and therefore don't need a lot of dampening??

· Registered
23,945 Posts
It's a starting point is all....