Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I am fairly new to biking and got the trance 2 over the summer. Recently it started making a noise when pedaling at high torgue. I took it to the shop and some bolts were tightened, etc. It got a little better but still makes the noise. Any ideas what it might be?

·
Registered
45 Posts
What does it sound like? Is it coming from the front of the bike or the back? Does it only make that sound when you are seated? How about standing?

·
Registered
417 Posts
I recently noticed the same problem (creaking noise when pedaling hard) on my Reign. So while riding yesterday I tried a few things to narrow down where the noise was coming from. In my experience, creaking on any bike usually comes from one of three places - the headseat, the bottom bracket, or the seat/seatpost.

This is what I typically do to track down the source of a creak:

1. Seat/Seatpost - Shift to a fairly high gear and pedal hard while standing. If the creak goes away, then you know the noise is probably either the seat tube/seatpost junction or the seatpost clamp that holds the saddle rails.

2. Headset - Does the bike make the noise when you're not pedaling? If you've ruled out the seatpost, see if the noise persists when riding downhill on rough terrain. If it continues to creak, the headset is probably the source.

3. Bottom Bracket - Once you've ruled out the seatpost and headset, crank away and see if the noise only occurs when there is a lot of torque applied to the pedals. If so, the bottom bracket is more than likely the problem.

Based on what you said, I'd say the problem you have is either the seatpost or the bottom bracket. Unfortunately, it can be really tricky to track down a noise because the sound can travel through the frame and make you think it's coming from a totally different place. It's all about the process of elimination.

·
Registered
24,083 Posts