Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a very new beginner class XC racer.
My "training" rides usualy consist of about a ten mile loop at the local trails that takes anwhere from 1:15-1:30. The trail has no long climbs, but numerous very short and moderatly steep climbs.
For as long as I have been able to ride the entire trail length I find that when I hit the last couple of miles I have very little left and my energy levels are pretty much gone. I am not talking about my legs being pumped, I don't seem to encounter that problem nearly as often as this one except when trying to keep my pace at a higher av speed, I am talking about simply not having the strength to turn the cranks, slumped over the bars, drained and all motivation gone.
I have only been drinking water on these rides and taking no gue or food with me.
My typical daily diet is pretty good with a good amount of complex carbs, I am 25yo, 6'1" and 180lbs. I feel like i am in pretty decent shape overall. I run about 15 miles a week, rock climb.....etc.

From what I am reading in the archives it sounds like this bonk is due to glycogen depletion, given the timing and feel, and my body not being very adept at burning fat for fuel during aerobic activity. If this is the case, I am under the impression that things like gatorade, a couple of cliff shots or similar sugars to help keep the blood sugar levels out of the gutter while riding is the solution to keep me on the trail longer so I can train longer and get more miles under my tires.
Oh yeah, this also seems to be worse in cold weather for some reason... maybe it's just in my head.

Does any of this make sense to you?:confused:

·
Registered
791 Posts