Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am down to 188 from about 201 a few months ago, with my sights set on 178. (I'm 5'11") I started off mostly on the trainer in the spring and now ride outside about 8-12 miles, 4 times a week and one long ride of about 25 - 30 miles. On the short rides I do a couple short and one long climb, and intervals on the flats with recovery on downhill sections(mostly on roads). The weekly long ride is flat one week, that I treat like a time trial, and the next week I do a very long fire road climb and then double/singletrack for the rest. This is my first year of racing and semi-serious training. I figure that I burn about 600-800 calories on my short daily rides and maybe triple that on the weekly ride. I usually rest 2 days a week, sometimes with a third of light spinning. Over the course of 8-12 mile ride my computer indicates that I currently average around 16.1 mph. When I started in thie spring my average was around 12.5 mph. I'm certain that the weight loss increasing my climb average plays a big part in my gains.

My question is, considering that I want to continue losing weight, what is a good guideline for caloric intake in order to lose weight, but still have the energy to ride hard and feel strong? I just feel like that at this point it is still more important to get to my target weight than to worry about bonking on a ride. Is it possible to get stronger while cutting calories, losing weight and training at the level I am training at?

I am 37 years old. Currently I eat somewhere around 2000 calories a day - sometimes a bit less, sometimes a bit more. My resting metabolic rate, according to most calculators is about 1900 cal.

Thanks!

·
Registered
2,376 Posts