Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Some guy
347 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm in a local race series (every Wed night) and I wanted to try to structure my training to maximize my race performance on a weekly basis. I made the rather stupid mistake of going to hard last week on the day before the race and paid for it with a craptacular performance. My general philosophy now is to rest the day after (Thurs), increasing training intensity in through the weekend, and then taper down again with only a light road ride on Tues (day before race). I'm a total noob so I'm just kinda making this up as I go along!

Anybody have any pointers for this kind of schedule?

·
Registered
1,226 Posts
Is this the only race your doing each week or are you also racing on the weekends? ie Whats your priority of the race?

Depending on where you are in the training cycle depends on how to approach. If you've got fitness, you can sacrifice it a little to gain and keep form, but that will only hold on for so long.

·
Registered
1,639 Posts
If your looking for structure, get Friels book or download my spreadsheet. Goto peak and race tab and that tells you how to structure a race week. Thing to remember, the structure assumes a strong base and build. Thus you'll need to pick your battles. Some of your races will be 'training' races (low priority), meaning you will have to work hard right up to race day. Other races you'll taper more and be fresh for race day (high priority).

I'd recommend you buy Friels book. The first time reading it will confuse you. The second time it will make sense. The third time will be like a revelation.

·
Banned
822 Posts
Treat it like a regular training day.

If it's a weekly event and you don't have any higher goals for it, there's no need to peak/taper/rest up for it.

In my prep for SuperWeek, I did three weeks in a row of Fri-hard, Sat/Sun race, Mon-easy, Tues-hard, Wed-Tempo-Thurs-Easy. Training through racing.