Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding a travel trac computer trainer for several months now. I have come up with several observations I would to share.

1st pedals and shoes
I put my road bike on the stand. I use Shimano pedals with road shoes. I could not get the angle of the cleats set so that my knees stayed comfortable. When riding on the road I did not have this problem. I tried adjusting my cleats forward back and rotating them. I could not get rid of my knee pain. One afternoon I went for an outdoor ride and got caught in the rain. I was not far from home but far enough that I got soaked. I changed but did not have dry shoes to match the Shimano pedals. I was still in the mood to ride so I switched my pedals to a set of egg beaters and got on the trainer with my mountain bike shoes. I did not notice it until 70-80 minutes into riding on the stand. My knees did not hurt. WOW my knees did not hurt. I started to pay attention to my position trying to figure out why. What I found was that I would often change the angle of my foot because of the extra float available from the egg beaters. What a cool thing to figure out. I also decided from this that the reason my knees did not hurt with the Shimano pedals on the road is because of how much more I shift my positions while on the road.

2nd motivation
This is a small one but for me the biggest motivation for riding is the power readings from the trainer. I got this trainer used for $250 and even at twice this price I would get it because of how much more I use it than my old rim drive that was just me pedaling.

3rd Pedal stroke