Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

I’m pretty new to the MTB world. Been riding with my 8 1/2 y/o on trails for about 1.5 years. We bike in Florida at Alafia and Santos mostly. No long climbs here but very quick punchy/steep climbs and fast. My boy has been doing mostly the blue singletrack trails with some easy blacks. Not big into jumping yet, although that may be due to his heavier Trek 20” Precaliber 7 speed, about 24lbs. He likes to think he gets air but doesn’t seem to leave the ground. We like to get out whenever we can but realistically with other sports it’s every few weeks that we get to hit the trails. Although we are starting to find the time more often.

He seems to really enjoy it and is starting to outgrow his 20”. He is on the smaller side, about 52” and 54lbs, inseam about 23”. I’ve been looking for his next bike. Would like something a little more trail capable since he has shown he likes the sport.

I’m currently between the Trailcraft Pineridge and the Woom Off Air 5. Both are very light bikes which I feel would be good for him due to his size. TC is 2x the cost. Definitely looks nice and haven’t read a single negative about it. What does this bike offer that would warrant us to get this bike based on the type of riding we are currently doing over the Woom Off Air?

Reviews seem high on both bikes. Is the TC more for the kid/family that is more into racing or very difficult terrain? Or for those of you that know the Alafia trail system outside of Tampa, would the TC be significantly better for him or the Woom? I don’t want to buy a bike that could be limiting in a year or so. MTB is not as popular in Florida, so I’m not sure how aggressive of trails kids are doing in other parts of the country. There are not many kids his age around here that I see out on the trails yet. Some, not much though.