Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
502 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Single track is covered with leaves. Told it was best to leave them on trail and let riders "mulch" them into trial over the winter. Now spring is here. Are these leaves holding water or protecting trail? Leave um or rake um off? Thanks.

·
Registered
3,931 Posts
jennasdad said:
Single track is covered with leaves. Told it was best to leave them on trail and let riders "mulch" them into trial over the winter. Now spring is here. Are these leaves holding water or protecting trail? Leave um or rake um off? Thanks.
Rake them off, biggest problem is they can be as slippery as ice.

·
Registered
629 Posts
I'd say rake em.

They hold moisture underneath and as said before can be slippery. I rake the trails on my property in the fall before it snows, then come spring they are ready to go.

Just my .02, I'm no professional. ;)

·
Registered
1,811 Posts
I went to my first trail maintenance day yesterday. We were cutting brand new trail. After we finished the guy leading the group had us sprinkle (not cover) the new trail with leaves. The intent was to help protect the trail against rain hitting the bare dirt directly. Several of the regular workers had attended at least one IMBA trail building course so I'm sure there is sound logic behind the concept.

·
Registered
2,658 Posts
I remove the leaves for two reasons. 1) Can't see most of the trail with the leaves until many, many, many people have ridden them and some years there aren't enough riders to do the trick. 2) The trails dry out much faster. With 3.5 miles of trails to rake it takes a few weeks to accomplish, but there is simply no benefit to leaveing the leaves.

·
Registered
35 Posts
When they drop in the fall they should stay down for a while, to help establish the tread. If they are still there in the spring, take them off. I use a leaf blower, much less abrasive to the trail and much quicker.

·
Registered