Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought my first mountain bike its a Diamondback Response XE. Its a decent bike i think. I do plan on upgrading it though as $ permits. First off are there any recomendations for a decent fork upgrade under 200$...the bike tech which is also a member here recommended a rock shox xc... also what should I start upgrading first? I want to keep the derailluer till it breaks or becomes inoperable. I was thinking maybe upgrade the stem, pedals, fork, brakes, then worry about the derailluers. Any ideas? Like the title says, im basically brand new to the mtb scene.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Same bike I have. I've had a year or so now. I don't ride as much as I'd like or as much as you probably get to, but I haven't broke anything yet. I'll watch your posts to see what you do, but I'm gonna ride till I break something, or until my wife decides to come ride with me, she'll get my diamond back and I'll get a new bike.:)

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i really want to spend the money for a fox fork but 400 is a bit steep. Wanting to make it a pretty mean bike over time. The frame is rock solid from what ive been told by several bike gurus. The guy that sold it to me is a diamondback god from what ive read and is a member on here. Anyways hoping some of the experts will direct me in the right was as far as upgrades!

·
T.W.O
1,730 Posts
Keep your eye out for a Rockshox Pike on ebay. These are great forks. You don't need to spend 700 on a good fork, but you don't want to spend 200. These are older models but the value is high on them. This one you can change the suspension from 95mm-140mm.

'11 ROCK SHOX PIKE 426 U TURN COIL Mtb Bike Suspension Fork 95-140mm Black NEW | eBay