Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a rocket scientist, not a bike engineer... that being said, it seems like disc brakes could be pretty bad for a wheel. I haven't crunched any numbers but the amount of torsion about the hub seems like it is enormous. It also seems like using a disc brake can introduce a large amount of angular acceleration in the opposite direction of the motion which means that the spokes are transferring torques in directions they are not designed to.

Has anyone damaged their wheels and/or spokes using disc brakes? They are used for downhill riders, so I'm guessing there is no real danger, but the torques involved seem like they are very large.

·
Registered
3,310 Posts
so as a rocket scientist, if you had on one hand tens of millions of test flights as data, and on the other some numbers you haven't crunched, and yourself admit you don't have a lot of faith in, which seem to contradict your tens of millions of data points... wouldn't that imply, to you, that maybe your hunch is wrong? That maybe your understanding of the basic physics involved is lacking?

The only mountain bikes these days that have rim brakes are wal-mart types, there hasn't been a mid- or high-end bike sold in nearly a decade without discs, longer than that for downhill bikes, not to mention when is the last time you saw a motorcycle with v-brakes? The problems you fear have never happened.

·
Registered
2,427 Posts
They are very large, and you are correct. Stopping the hub, while the wheel attempts to turn puts tremendous load on the spokes. That said - I don't believe the stress placed on the spokes would be any worse than the loads placed on them by the wheel attempting to go out of round when riding it. The load on the spokes (when properly adjusted) is still a tension force.

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·