Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a fresh-out-of-the-egg noob. My question is: If you hd to pick no more than 5 skills to work on (I'm coming in from being a "roadie", so my aerobic health is good) what would you choose to focus on?

Thanks to all for your help.

-OwMyNads

·
Registered
1,635 Posts

OwMyNads said:
I'm a fresh-out-of-the-egg noob. My question is: If you hd to pick no more than 5 skills to work on (I'm coming in from being a "roadie", so my aerobic health is good) what would you choose to focus on?

-OwMyNads
The first skill to master is not offending crusty old geezers like me with your vulgar and offensive handle. Change it to something you could quote to your Mom, and I'd be happy to list some necessary riding skills, as I've taught MTB skill classes in the past, and written articles on the subject.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Personally, I like his handle. And I especially like the fact that hes's a roadie looking into mountain biking. If you have the cash on hand, I highly reccomend buying and readingNed Overend: Mountain Bike Like A Champion. I started mountain biking this summer and this book, along with a lot of saddle time on challenging terrain, has made me into a much better mountain biker than I thought I could be.

Some of the things I've really picked up from this book (among other places) and thought were very helpful were: Shift early and shift often, keep your momentum up, never hesitate, look to the trail ahead - not at your front wheel, look where you want to go, not where you don't, try and try again, ride with people that are better than you, and most importantly- just get out there and ride! I am honestly surprised with how far I have come this summer just by getting out there and challenging myself on every ride. The trails I thought were challenging in May are now just my warmup routes.

Good luck.

·
Trail rider and racer
4,691 Posts
Be able to track stand.