Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys,

I've been lurking for a while and I'm committed to getting tooled up enough to build some nice frames for myself. I'm a big old Clydesdale with a monster inseam of about 38.5"-39" measured using the very narrow book between the legs method. This is on flat ground and back to the wall with no shoes. That was about as high as I could get a 0.375" thick book up against the bone with my feet separated by about 3" in the middle.

After doing a little bit of math and research I've confirmed that the 175mm cranks I've been riding on are just too short. Thats what my gut feeling has been since about '99 and I just got a set of 200mm cranks to test the theory. They make a huge difference in comfort. However, my 280mm BB height could defiantly be optimized for longer cranks. Its not a huge problem but I'm a mechanical engineer and building a bike gives me something to think about other than custom trucks/cars which I deal with all day long at work.

Only problem is I'm not tooled up for building bikes and I need to get a couple things. My Power Mig 200 is a bit too big and crude for building a bike. I would really appreciate some input on the subject from the likes of the guys who are here and build stuff in real life. I learned the hard way myself many many times and its always nice to have an old pro give you some insight.

I've already searched and looked at every single picture and link over at www.pvdwiki.com under the frame building section. Thanks for posting the wiki site! I love it. I'm going to build something very similar to the TIE Advanced X1 and maybe add a bit of the Monster Cross flavor down the road with an 80mm cannondale suspension tube.