Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 67 Posts

· Registered
943 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got back from a 5 day trip to Killington Bike Park with my son. I'm 43, certainly not old, but I'm not 20 anymore so it takes a little longer to recover despite being in pretty decent shape for my age.

I started riding bike parks 3 years ago, and this year since I have my own FS, I went about 20 times since I don't have to rent anymore.

I'm just wondering, how much do you avoid getting into a wreck? I push myself harder than I probably should, but it's only cause I feel like I don't have too many more years sending 10ft drops and clearing 25ft jumps. With that comes the occasional spill, and while I obviously don't go looking to crash, I realize it's pretty much inevitable if I'm gonna try improving to get to where I want to be.

Last wreck though took a lot outta me, and I'm thinking it might be a good idea to take it a bit easier. No breaks or anything major, but went OTB and landed hard on my head. Cracked my helmet, gave myself a concussion, black eye (was wearing goggles), and my neck and jaw have been pretty sore for a few days.

Are you guys pushing yourselves too, to the point where you know crashing is just part of the deal? How often do you crash? And how much do you avoid trails, jumps, drops, etc in an effort to avoid taking a spill?
Shoe Automotive tire Sleeve Automotive design Bicycle part

· Registered
201 Posts