Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Ride More
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let me give you a little background on my situation. I am 24 and I have been racing for 2 1/2 years. I upgraded to sport about a year ago. My first three sport races I DNF'd and didn't finish the season. I don't do well at losing, so I trained my butt off and came back the next series. I finished top 3 in all the races and even won the series. I live in South FL, so our classes are a bit smaller. None of the Sport 19-29 groups were over 10 people. The first 3-4 racers usually finished within 60-90 seconds. So all of the races were close. I want to upgrade to Expert and go through pure agony for the first season and just try to finish the races like in my first season of Sport. All of the racers that I talk to advise me that I should stay in sport for one more season until I can dominate the class. They say once you move up to expert there is no turning back. I don't want to be a sandbagger, but I have had every single racer I spoke to advise me not to upgrade. I really want to upgrade. Does anyone have any real life experiences? Was upgrading better or worse for you riding? Do you regret it? What would you do? Any ideas or thoughts would be helpful. I just want to do what is best for my racing.
Thanks in advance
Andrew

·
Registered
189 Posts
amex420 said: