Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m going to be going to a dh Park for the first time this upcoming summer. I’m a broke college student and as such I currently ride 2002 Rocky Mountain pipeline that I bought for $300 from a buddy’s dad. I mostly ride singletrack around the tristate area but I’ve been meaning to make a trip to a dh park for years. I’m gonna be going up to mount snow vt, and I was wondering if I should rent a bike or if I’ll be able to have a good time on my old Rocky Mountain

·
jcd's best friend
3,317 Posts
I would rent. I'm not entirely sure how bike rentals work but you might have to put down a deposit along with rental fees. You get the deposit back if you bring the bike back in one piece ;)

Someone else here might know more about deposits and bike rentals.

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
I'm going to be going to a dh Park for the first time this upcoming summer. I'm a broke college student and as such I currently ride 2002 Rocky Mountain pipeline that I bought for $300 from a buddy's dad. I mostly ride singletrack around the tristate area but I've been meaning to make a trip to a dh park for years. I'm gonna be going up to mount snow vt, and I was wondering if I should rent a bike or if I'll be able to have a good time on my old Rocky Mountain
Im not sure what Mt Snow is like, but most lift accessed parks youll have a way more fun time with a more aggresive bike. Rental(s) uou also get to experience different bike(s)

·
Registered
1,617 Posts
Call in and make sure they actually have decent bikes with droppers. I once rented a FS in Utah and while the bike was OK, not having a dropper was a downer as that is 100% useful in any riding that includes descents.

be prepared it'll cost you $100+. the cheap bastard in me translates such cost into possible bike upgrades I could have instead.

·
Wanna ride bikes?
9,785 Posts
A $500 deposit on a CC is common, usually $70-100 per day.