Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Retro Grouch
2,091 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been using a Misfit FuBar for about 3 years on my Rocklobster; I have also ran a suspended seatpost for even longer. Well, I guess even an old dog can learn new tricks. After riding my 650b SASS with a rigid fork and seatpost, I tired of the sloppy seatpost on my suspended Rocklobster and scored a Thompson seatpost on ebay. And just as the seatpost arrived, I got more love form my friend Spike as he showed up at my door with a Titec H-bar. The H-bar took a little more time as I switched back to my 120mm steel stem and had to install a new rear brake hose I hate that!). I did the first ride today and all I can say is "Yes!" The H-bar had one of the most natural hand positions I have ever felt. One of the problems with the FuBar was the need for a 140mm stem, yet the grips were farther back. This resulted in a certain amount of instability and more pressure on my back when I stood up. I didn't notice this until I spent some time on my SASS and the H-bar addresses both these problems. The Thompson seatpost is also magic; combined with my Selle Italia seat, I appreciate the natural shock absorbing of the saddle and Ti rails. I'm leaning toward my SASS, but some new life has been breathed into an old friend.

Edited: OOPS, Titec H-Bar

Attachments

·
Harmonius Wrench
8,254 Posts
Titec H-Bars do rock. Just put mine back on my OS Bikes Blackbuck after a long hiatus. Good to have it back on there. I haven't tried the non-riser version, the "J-Bar" yet, mostly due to the 31.8mm interface but I think that will be high on my list of bars I must get here.

·
Retro Grouch
2,091 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
martinsillo said:
Titec H-Bar?...I choose that one for my upcoming Pugs...good to know you liked!