Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the whole MTB scene. I'm a roadie that's getting soft and finding it hard to get out when it"s in the 50's. It's funny how that happens, in Ma I rode a cyclo cross set up through the winter, but now here in SoCal 50 is too cold.
Any way I figure I won't mind it on the MTB so I'm going to build me a 29er. I'm going for the Big Mama and I'll build it through E Bay.
Now practicaly speaking how wide do the rims have to be? Most of my riding will be single track and fire roads. I was looking at the Salsa Gordo just because of the width, but at 700 g's they are fairly heavy. The Semi's 5mm thinner and over a 100 g's lighter. These examples are 35 mm and 30 mm respectively. Most other rims are low to mid 20's. Do I really need a 30 - 35 mm rim?

·
Always Learning
9,608 Posts
mackgoo said:
I'm new to the whole MTB scene. I'm a roadie that's getting soft and finding it hard to get out when it"s in the 50's. It's funny how that happens, in Ma I rode a cyclo cross set up through the winter, but now here in SoCal 50 is too cold.
Any way I figure I won't mind it on the MTB so I'm going to build me a 29er. I'm going for the Big Mama and I'll build it through E Bay.
Now practicaly speaking how wide do the rims have to be? Most of my riding will be single track and fire roads. I was looking at the Salsa Gordo just because of the width, but at 700 g's they are fairly heavy. The Semi's 5mm thinner and over a 100 g's lighter. These examples are 35 mm and 30 mm respectively. Most other rims are low to mid 20's. Do I really need a 30 - 35 mm rim?
No. You don't really need a 30-35mm width rim.