Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
342 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi new here looking for tires for my hardtail...i mainly do singletrack and hardpack..as a student i cant afford to keep changing tires every 1->2 months(3 to 4 rides a week) so would prefer something durable..i used to own Larsens TT..but they simply wear too quickly...also i would like to keep the weight down (i am abit weight weenie)

not really a tire guy so dont have much of an idea about tires..my friends recommend me the Schwalbe Racing Ralphs....would like some advice :D

·
ol'guy who says hi &waves
2,546 Posts
mafia6 said:
hi new here looking for tires for my hardtail...i mainly do singletrack and hardpack..as a student i cant afford to keep changing tires every 1->2 months(3 to 4 rides a week) so would prefer something durable..i used to own Larsens TT..but they simply wear too quickly...also i would like to keep the weight down (i am abit weight weenie)

not really a tire guy so dont have much of an idea about tires..my friends recommend me the Schwalbe Racing Ralphs....would like some advice :D
Hard to beat IRC Trail Bears for all round performance, wear and price.

·
Registered
245 Posts
mafia6 said:
erm guys any other alternatives? cause the Trailbears arent availible in my country... :(
Panaracer XC Fires and Kenda Nevegals are good choices. The Nevegal (the Tomac Stick-E version) was rated best all round tire by one of the magazines recently.

·
Lazy People Suck
767 Posts
I am strictly XC guy and a weight weenie, so you know where my recommendations are coming from:

For dry hardpack conditions, my current favorite is a Kenda Blue Groove Lite 2.0 DTC in the fron and a Kenda Karma 2.0 DTC in the rear. My other favorite hardpack tire is the Hutchinson Python Airlight. These all roll well and hook up well on hardpack. These tend to be around 480 grams although I found a couple of Kendas in the 440s.