Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,344 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
An experienced rider who is a Clydesdale (over 200lbs) recommended I replace my rear rotor (160mm) with a larger rotor (180?) for more stopping power.

I'd appreciate thoughts from other riders on this. Does it make a big difference? I'm only in my first year of riding and haven't ever noticed any braking issues (I use both front and rear and am pretty good at modulating the brakes).

On the other hand, I recently found myself on about the steepest long downhill I'd ever ridden (with switchbacks so I couldn't just fly) and I was surprised at how hard I was laying on the brakes to stick to what was (for me) a comfortable speed.

So maybe a larger rotor (or rotors) would help in those situations?

Thanks,
Scott

·
Premium Member
48,238 Posts
SWriverstone said:
An experienced rider who is a Clydesdale (over 200lbs) recommended I replace my rear rotor (160mm) with a larger rotor (180?) for more stopping power.

I'd appreciate thoughts from other riders on this. Does it make a big difference? I'm only in my first year of riding and haven't ever noticed any braking issues (I use both front and rear and am pretty good at modulating the brakes).

On the other hand, I recently found myself on about the steepest long downhill I'd ever ridden (with switchbacks so I couldn't just fly) and I was surprised at how hard I was laying on the brakes to stick to what was (for me) a comfortable speed.

So maybe a larger rotor (or rotors) would help in those situations?

Thanks,
Scott
Put the larger rotor on the front if you are replacing just one.

·
Premium Member
1,344 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I think they're Avid Elixir brakes—the stock brakes on a Gary Fisher HiFi Pro 29er...(and one thing I'm wondering is...doesn't a larger rotor necessitate a different caliper mounting bracket?)

Scott

·
Premium Member
1,344 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
shiggy said: