1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
VRC Illuminati
17,650 Posts

·
Registered
1,163 Posts
Rumpfy said:
I think the rear SS dropouts scared most potential buyers away. Not that it wasn't done correctly...but it killed some of it's original vintageness.
Compare that to the Yellow frame that sold for a little less than that by itself!
I'd think the comment about stress cracks on the fork probably hurt it some too.

·
Registered
2,472 Posts
As long as the SlingShot topic is up here I want to say something about the brand.

I started riding SlingShots in 87' and stopped in 93'. I always liked "Sling Power" and had great rides on the bikes. However as soon as I put on a front suspension fork I stopped liking them and went on to a hardtail/front sus bike. Plus to be fair I moved a year or so before to the Rockies from Vt. and the change in terrain had something to do with it or so I thought.

I just put together a new 29" SlingShot here that is something I have wanted to do for a few years now. I was going to run it rigid and then things worked out to have a sus fork on it. The shakedown cruises were uneventful and the bike felt pretty good. I got to take a good ride on it yesterday and what I found out was that the advent of the fork lockout has made the Sling a totally different ballgame. When climbing you hit the LO and the head angle steepens some making the bike handle very sportily and the bike goes into Sling Power mode without any distractions from the forks suspension. To all of you that have never ridden a Shot this probably means nothing, but to me it was quite the revelation. Reverse the mode at the top and downhills are clear sailing.

So if I was going to go with a vintage Shot I would use a rigid fork only. However if you can outfit it with a shock with a lockout that is the best of both worlds.

As far as retro content for this picture goes, the headbadge and SlingShot decals are NOS from 91', and as you can see the bikes have not changed much since then either.

·