Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI

I posted in the "thinking of buying" thread and was advised to repost in the Giant section...so, here goes:

----

Hi all

I'm a first-time poster and thought I'd start in this section, as I'm in the market for a new ride. I have some ideas of what I want to get, so please send me whichever direction you feel is appropriate, given my questions....just getting a feel for the site...

I've been riding for about 4 years. First had a HT and then got my current bike - A Gary Fisher Sugar 3+ disc in 2002. The Sugar is set up as follows: Manitou Black Elite shock (hate it), Cane Creek AD-5 rear (ok), Mavic Rims, XT wheels, Avid mechanical disc brakes, and mostly unremarkable stuff from there. It's been a good bike, but I'm ready to upgrade.

Here in Chico, CA, we ride a lot of lava rock and technical stuff. Personally, I am not one who enjoys going fast downhill and usually ride with people who blow past me on the down, then I catch up on the uphill. So, something lighter but can still take a decent hit from time to time would probably be good. Again, I can spend about $2k.

The main reason I picked that amount is that I've been loyal to this one bike shop in town that has treated me quite well. I am NOT a "tinkerer" at all and the bikes I"m bought from them have come w/ free lifetime maintenance which I have been more than happy to take advantage of.

So, the bike they are raving about is the Giant Trance series. I've ridden the Trance 3, but there are no 2's in stock - especially to demo (e.g. on a real ride and not on the pavement). They also deal in Santa Cruz and Gary Fisher.

I'm open to not buying from them, but the circumstances would need to be right. My main questions - aside from general recommendations are these:

(1) What sort of improvement will I see in real-life riding between my Sugar and something like the Trance 2?