Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well recently I have been looking alot at hardtail bikes mostly because I would love to start doing some more urban freeride type riding as well.
I cant afford to have two complete bikes and since I am a college student I dont really have the room for two bikes anyway.
currently I ride a giant AC. Sure it isnt the best bike in the world, but it has treated me well and I feel I have a decent build (xt cranks, full sram drivetrain, manitou minute 3's just to give a rough idea).
I'm just wondering, if I purchased a nice hardtail freeride style frame and put the componenets from my giant on it, would it make a nice all around bike capable of some light urban freeride as well as some serious trails. As far as the type of trail riding I do, I love rocky technical stuff. I am a gravity junky but at the same time I love technical, rocky, rooty ascents as well.

Keep in mind though, I have never ridden a hard tail on the trail before though I did ride alot of freestyle bmx on a fully rigid 20 incher for about 6 years in middle school/high school before getting into mountain biking.
If I decide to do this am I going to hate myself in the end?

What bikes would you guys recommend?

·
Registered
9,335 Posts
pedro_sandchez said:
Well recently I have been looking alot at hardtail bikes mostly because I would love to start doing some more urban freeride type riding as well.
I cant afford to have two complete bikes and since I am a college student I dont really have the room for two bikes anyway.
currently I ride a giant AC. Sure it isnt the best bike in the world, but it has treated me well and I feel I have a decent build (xt cranks, full sram drivetrain, manitou minute 3's just to give a rough idea).