Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey all, looking to get into biking but as a beginner i am not sure i am ready to sink a bunch of time, money and energy into installing a hitch and a hitch rack.

that said, i do think a roof rack makes sense because not only can it be used for bikes (granted, probably not as convenient/good as a hitch rack) but also for surfboards, skis, snowboards, bags, etc.

any thoughts on Yakima or Thule racks?

additionally, i am perusing classifieds (Craigslist, FB Marketplace, Pinkbike, here, etc.) to find some cheap, used racks as i know they pop up fairly often.

the one issue i am having is confirming fit for a 2017 Forester. if i am reading the Yakima website correctly it's either the Railgrab (discontinued) or the Timberline (current). is this correct? are there no other towers that can/could work?

thanks!

·
Registered
1,668 Posts
While you're deciding on a system, just remember to consider if clearance might ever be an issue for you. I know, seems obvious, but more than one person I know didn't consider that over the years... myself included. :) The Forester doesn't look to be extremely tall, but there may be a drive through overhang waiting for you.

·
Registered
12,024 Posts
While you're deciding on a system, just remember to consider if clearance might ever be an issue for you. I know, seems obvious, but more than one person I know didn't consider that over the years... myself included. :) The Forester doesn't look to be extremely tall, but there may be a drive through overhang waiting for you.
This can be an issue no matter what vehicle you have - I don't fit some places even with my WRX.

Pro tip - pay attention!

Personally, I prefer Yakima products. Seem better made in general, and they have the only roof tray I'm aware of that will fit tires from 20" BMX up to 29 x 3" MTB.

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·