Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so I'm pretty new to this mountain bike thing just this year coming from a bmx freestyle background (yeah when they where a thing 20 years ago) but diving into the mtb rabbit hole. Anyway the tech companies must be listening cause I open my Netflix and this pops up out of the blue.

Accomplice
on Netflix

I'm taking it as a sign I'm on the right track lol.

·
Registered
1,475 Posts
Yup

I don't normally buy sweets but I had a sweet tooth last time I went grocery shopping. Some Tate's cookies caught my eye and I figured they'd be better than chips ahoy cookies. Well they were mediocre at best and chip ahoy cookies probably would have been better. Anyway, two days later I've been getting advertisements for Tate's cookies on my Instagram feed. Never had them before until now.

·
Registered
3,482 Posts
I'm not inclined to believe in conspiracy theories, but there's no doubt that corporate big brother (CBB) is watching. CBB collects everything about you that has an input into the world of big data. What you buy, where you go on the web, how fast you drive, your fitbit heart rate, the music you listen to, your political leanings, your income, your relatives, where you work, what time you get up in the morning, etc, etc, etc,etc. The list goes on and on and is growing by the day. There are ways to limit what they learn from your browsing (VPN, anti-tracking add-ons, etc), and you could try to limit yourself to cash transactions (remember cash? a quaint thing of the past), but there's not a lot one can do about the rest other than advocate for stringent privacy laws, and good luck with that.

·
Rabid Lana Fan
9,120 Posts
I'm not inclined to believe in conspiracy theories