Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I used to think that a full suspension bike differed from a hardtail in that it provided more comfort for the rider's butt when going through rough terrain, but I've read that the primary purpose of a full suspension bike is to give added traction over terrain where a hardtail would bounce and skip over. Is this saying true?

It also brings me to another question. They say you learn riding better with a hardtail as you train how to pick your lines. With a full suspension bike you can essentially ride through without really needing to pick lines. What does a full suspension bike provide that makes this possible?

Sorry if the two questions end up with similar answers. I'm still learning! :)

·
aka dan51
6,021 Posts
To answer your question best, ride one of each back to back on the same trail.
I got rid of my hardtail because it was killing my back.

Most of what you think is true.
-traction is better
-it's easier on your butt
-you don't have to pick as smooth of a line, though often times the less smooth line is more fun, such as hitting a good sized drop rather than riding around it. You still have to pick a line though, the FS bike is not a tank.

·
Registered
807 Posts
The purpose of a full suspension bike?

To crush your fellow hardtail riders, see them fall behind you, and to hear the lamentation of their women. [end conan the barbarian]

To your first question, yes, that is correct, full suspension will provide better traction uphill and down hill on bumpy terrain.

Second question, a full suspension bike is more forgiving over bumps so depending on how bad the bumps are you don't need to choose the smoothest line, you might be able to choose the straightest line and be fine where a hardtail would get bossed around on the straightest line and need to choose the smoothest line.