Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
With my budget, this is the only frame that I can afford and Cambria Bike has had this frame on sale for the longest time. I'm not a fan of the single pivot design. My real question is for the Pantera rider/owner who has a Pushed Fox Vanilla R installed on their frame and tell me how it greatly improved the characteristics of the bike. I have a pushed rear shock currently on my Kona and the shock will most likely end up on the Pantera if I decide to buy the frame.

·
enjoying the kool-aid
779 Posts
I can't comment on the PUSHED Fox but I purchased a large Pantera frame from Cambria a few months ago and couldn't be happier.
I opted for the swinger 3 way shock so I'd have more options when it came to platform. I am still learning the shock but I have found a great setting for general XC riding. Still experimenting with urban riding settings and such.

One thing to note is make sure the shock you want to switch over is the correct size. The Pantera takes a 1.5" stroke shock ... not 2" which seems to be the new 'standard'.

I don't think the frame is outdated. It's a wonderful single pivot bike. It is super stiff and can be made stiffer with the optional superlink. It can be built pretty light but is still VERY sturdy.

If your shock will work I'd say purchase a frame with the swinger3way so you can have two shock options that are more different than a Fox RL and a PUSHED Fox.

·
Registered
277 Posts
Yeah, I have a Pantera with a Swinger 3-way also. It pedals great - no bobbing at all. Mine is not as "plush" as other setups I've tried on the bike (Vanilla R and Cane Creek Cloud 9), but pedaling efficiency is really great.