Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Gangbusters
912 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Thought I would start a thread for the newbies (like myself)! All you pros who wanna help out and share your smarts, post up a tip: what ever you want, maybe regarding tire pressure, seat hight, padding choice, weight shifting for corners, trail building etc.....please take 2 mins to post one tip and I am sure a lot of people will thank you for your help! If this thread stays on topic it could be a nice tool and maybe become a sticky!

Even though I am a newbie to DH, I know this from all my years of riding AM:

When riding, it is best to focus on the trail ahead of you, not directly infront of your front tire. Let your eyes scan the trail and pick the best line. Too many newbies worry about what their front tire is about to ride over, rather than scouting the trail ahead so they are in the right position for the berm, drop, rockgarden or root railway etc.

MKR

·
SuperInstigator
2,169 Posts
mkrobert81 said:
What is a track stand? Can you give a couple tips on how to exicute it?
I'm no pro, but I'll try to pretend...

A trackstand is used when you need to rest before a techy section, or during a technical section when you need to make deliberate moves highly dependent on balance.