Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Maybe by now you have heard a little about the Megavalanche race in Peru. Many riders from Canada, USA, South America and Europe have been there racing and only them knows how hard is this race.

I have been racing downhill since 1998 in all South America and I can tell this is the hardest race! The altitude and the weather plays a big roll in this race. Starting at 4,450 m (14,600 ft.) and snowing it's a challenge for your body and for your mind!

Olleros
Riding Olleros Descent, a 11,800 ft. DH!

Marcahuasi
Casta I Trail on the Andes of Lima

Quipan
Quipan Trail on the Andes of Lima

This is the biggest race in Peru and riders like Steve Peat, Cedric Gracia, Phillip Polk, Rene Wildhaber, Mike Jones, Tomas Misser and many other top-ranked riders have showed us how to race in these type of events. They all went fast as hell since the beginning to the end of the trail!

This March 29-30, 2009 is going to be the fifth edition of this massive event. On the last 4 editions we have seen how the local people improved. By now we have maybe more than 100 local racers that will be attending this race with all type of bikes. From great downhill bikes with full suspension and brakes to hardtails with triple clamp forks and cantilever brakes!

We always start this race 10 days before, preparing our bodies and our minds riding all type of trails in the Andes of Lima and then in Cusco. Trails like Olleros or Marcahuasi with more than 10,000 vertical feet of descend are great for getting in use to "the long riding conditions". Then in Cusco we focus on the Megavalanche trail but we also ride other impressive trails like Lares and other shorter trails around the Sacred Valley.

Here we have a nice video we want to share with you:

www.inkasadventures.com/videos/Mega2008Peru.wmv