Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,
I wanted to share this, and since I had done a search and found nothing about this particular product, I wanted to pass along my experience.

For those of you looking for a good inexpensive degreaser, I have found one...and it's fantastic. If you have a Dollar Tree near you, check out the "Totally Awesome Orange" cleaner/spot remover/degreaser. For a buck, I can't believe this stuff works as well as it does. I have cleaned my frame, chain, wheels etc. with this stuff and it's remarkable. It picks up and sheds dirt that simple green leaves behind. Great for the cassette and drivetrain. They even have packs of presoaked wipes I keep in the car for cleaning up after a ride. Simply the best degreaser I've ever used. I worked in a shop for many years and this blows away anything I've tried. I recently turned a local shop on to it and they were blown away with the results. Try it out! I'm anxious to hear if you do. Happy New year everyone!

·
Banned
1,230 Posts
I also recommend Purple Power which can be purchased at many auto parts stores or Wallyworld. If I remember correctly, it costs about $5 for a gallon jug. You can get a bigger jug and save a bit more, but I never have anywhere to store something bigger. I buy a lot of used bikes to clean up and resell and use a ton of this stuff. It is biodegradible for those that care.

·
Registered
2,903 Posts
i dont think ive ever used a degreaser that didnt degrease stuff.. for nasty baked on THICK automotive grease, i just use whatevers cheapest, and it always works. a little bike funk can be removed with damn near anything. dollar store is a great place for stuff like that.

·
Registered
549 Posts
. . .just be sure "Totally Awesome..." and "Purple Power" isn't left on anodized-parts too long - black chain-rings ended up with a funky purplish tinge after leaving it on to soak.