Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I just got a Topeak Smartgauge D2. If this thing is accurate, then that means the floor pump i've been using for the past ~10 years reads up to 10-15psi too high. 馃槄
The only other way I can measure pressures is with my shock pump. How accurate is a shock pump for measuring tyres? I've done some tests on both my fork and my tyres, and the Topeak and the shock pump tend to show the same pressures.
If both my shock pump and my pressure gauge is accurate then i've been living a lie for the past few years and riding tyres with about 8-9psi in them. That's just so hard to believe. 馃槄

Registered
Floor pump gauges are notoriously bad. A 10+ psi error is completely possible. There was an in-depth article testing a big range of shockpumps The digital ones were good to a couple psi, the analogue were generally 5psi or better (I think). Your topeak is very highly regarded and is the go to gauge for many Pros.

So yes you probably have been squishing in more air than you thought.

Registered
I know that the guage on my floor pump is high, but it is consistently high.

I get my tires to where I like the feel when riding, then I use that target number that the pump provides whenever I check my tires before a ride.

Can I provide an accurate psi number to someone taking a poll at trailhead ? No.

Can I get a consistent tire feel and not my wrecking rims? 100%.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Floor pump gauges are notoriously bad. A 10+ psi error is completely possible. There was an in-depth article testing a big range of shockpumps The digital ones were good to a couple psi, the analogue were generally 5psi or better (I think). Your topeak is very highly regarded and is the go to gauge for many Pros.

So yes you probably have been squishing in more air than you thought.
That's great to hear, thanks for the info!