Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy Fellow single speeders,

I'm a newbie to the SS scene, and I'm having trouble with my stock tension seeker. I recently orered a SURLY singulator, but I'm curious about proper installation. Is it really better to install with the chain pushing up?

Anybody got any helpful pics of a properly installed tension seeker?

·
Registered
347 Posts
I'm in the same boat... I got the Singulator as well and had to run it in the push-down mode. Even though it runs OK most of the time, when I go uphill and put a lot of pressure on the pedal, the chain slips. It's quite possible that I didn't install it right, though.
I'll try a half link next and see if I can run it in the push-up mode with better results. If not I'm going to order a Rennen Rollenlager.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
RiderInTraining said:
I'm in the same boat... I got the Singulator as well and had to run it in the push-down mode. Even though it runs OK most of the time, when I go uphill and put a lot of pressure on the pedal, the chain slips. It's quite possible that I didn't install it right, though.
I'll try a half link next and see if I can run it in the push-up mode with better results. If not I'm going to order a Rennen Rollenlager.
I here ya on the RENNEN! A buddy just emailed me a pick of the Rollenlager, and I'm thinking that I may return the SURLY and save myself a potential headache! Afterall, can't ride if the chain won't stay on!

Thanks for the reply

·
Get out of town!
1,442 Posts
Your chain is likely slipping because those singulators basically suck - I think you are going to find they are more trouble than then are worth. You may want to check out a Convert chain tensioner by Soulcraft. This is the best option imo. I have one and like the fact that I can take the rear wheel off w/o having to remove the chain tensioner. Good luck.

·
Registered
35 Posts
jsnk1975 said: