Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
577 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Possibly thinking of moving to the Denver area in the next couple of years to start raising ankle-biters. I'm in Tucson now and just aren't convinced it's a great place to raise children. Terrible schools, etc. The g/f and I would like a place with a bit more culture (art museums, theater, sports) as well as actual SEASONS, still outdoorsy, and are curious about Denver. We both grew up in areas that had lots of snow (her in mid-NY and me in Flagstaff, AZ) so we like the cold/snow.

I know things can change a lot in a couple years, but what suburbs are decent? I'm a graphic designer and she will most likely be getting an elementary teaching degree by the time we move. Cost of living seems to be just *slightly* higher there than in Tucson, but (according to Salary.com) employers pay 11% better there than here, so that's a plus if it's accurate.

All my internet sleuthing comes up with a ton of "I love it!" and a ton of "I hate this place!" so I was hoping for something a bit more fact-driven from ya'll.

On a biking related note, I'm more of an aggressive XC kinda guy. My main ride is a rigid SS with a full-squishy all-mountain(ish) backup ride. Got a mid-level road bike, too. Are there some good mtn and roadie clubs in the area? Bike commuting a possibility?

I'm sure you're all sick of this kind of post but help a guy out. So give it to me straight... what are the pros and cons of the area? :D :thumbsup:

·
Awesomist™
2,951 Posts
I'm not sure about Tuscon specifically, but much of the Front Range communities (Denver, Co Springs, Ft. Collins) have similar cost of living to Phoenix and Flagstaff last I checked. There are always some exceptions but for the most part I think they're pretty similar.