Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been reading the many tire threads, and I feel badly starting a new one. But I'm looking for dry season, relatively light, fast rolling tires specifically for Tamarancho, but that will be pretty decent around Pine Mountain, too, and not shred to nothing when riding a rocky sections (Schwalbes have that tendency in my experience).

I realize how important tires are after I removed my worn, summer tires (Racing Ralph 2.25 rear and Mutano 2.4 front) and replaced them with my winter Nevegals (2.1/2.35). It takes me five more minutes to complete the loop now, and my bike feels like a slug! My previous tires were OK, but the front was worn as it came with my second-hand bike, and the rear RR wore out very quickly. I'm under 150lbs geared up. I'm new to MTB--a year of riding--so I don't know how aggressive my riding is, but my best Kiosk to Kiosk CW time is 46 minutes and I can clear the loop if that matters. It's a FS bike.

I've been thinking a Wolverines 2.2 set or a Mutanos 2.4 set. Or an SB8 for the rear. Maybe a Wolverine rear and a Mutano front? Can anyone with some experience with these tires and Tamarancho please give me some input or point me to other tires? Since Tamo is my backyard loop--the ride I do when I don't have much time--it gets boring if I'm not trying to improve my time. And the Nevegals are so slow it makes riding there a lot less interesting....

Thanks in advance.

·
ballbuster
12,718 Posts
Heh...

What PSI do you run the Nevegals?
...does it matter? Nevegals are slow rolling tires at any pressure.