Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am heading to Tahoe tomorrow and was looking for advice on trails. I have ridden The Flume and the Rim Trail. I also rode something called the Chinese Downhill which sucked becuase motorcylces screwed it up.

I am planning on doing a shuttle deal at Northstar Park. I have never done that before so it should be interestin on my 1" travel Dos Niner.

Any suggestions for other rides would be appreciated. I am planning on riding the Flume again because I am meeting a buddy up there and although it is an easy ride you can't beat the views.

thanks in advance,
ross

·
Registered
60 Posts
You might want to consult the NorCal forum, but if it were me, and I could only ride my bike for one more week in my life, I'd spend it all in Tahoe City on the north shore. The single track between Tahoe City and Northstar has so many options it is not even funny. The Tahoe Rim trail runs through there, and it is fantastic. It can most directly be accessed from the west side of Brockway summit, I believe highway 276 on the way to Northstar from the lake. There are about a million single track options diverting from it, and they are so flowy and fun it's ridiculous. It is similar to Flagstaff, but much more extensive. You can't get too lost with the lake being such a good reference. The nice thing is, you're unlikely to encounter anyone out there. There's alot of climbing, so if you're not into that you won't like the suggestion. But if you like to climb and descend forever under the canopy of gigantic trees all by yourself, enjoy.

·
Elitest thrill junkie
39,661 Posts
"The Punisher" is a great ride, from Heavenly Ski Resort on the Nevada side, up the TRT, eventually you get to come down Mr Toads Wild Ride. Long miles, lots of vert, great ride. Mr Toads is a blast.

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·