Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
583 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there! Who else is doing the Leadville Qualifier at Northstar in a couple weeks?

My first marathon race with two 33ish mile laps! I've done a couple 8 hour races and was on a 4-man team for a 24 hour but I'm sure this will be a little harder with the high altitude :)

Anyways, my intention on starting this thread was to get information about I should put in my bag for the bag drop location (see course map here -http://www.leadvillequalifiers.com/media/pdf/laketahoe_route.pdf) Since this is my first marathon race, I have no experience in this. With the 8/24 hour races you just keep looping around and I have a cooler with food/water etc.. as I keep circling around for hours on end.

What do people normally put in their bags? Are you usually just allowed 1 bag?

Thanks for the info! :thumbsup:

·
Registered
5 Posts
You get 1 bag for the bag drop and it can be any type of bag as long as it's not extremely large. People normally pre-fill bottles with their favorite carbohydrate drink (or a coke) and put them into a mini-cooler. When riders arrive to the bag drop station they just swap out their current bottles for the fresh ones. This is also a good place to put your extra gear if you started out with warmers or a wind vest due to the early start time.

The bags are self-serve but are lined up in number order for easy access.

·
Registered
373 Posts
Two of us are coming from Colorado, mainly because my brother lives there and it was a chance to ride and visit. Hoping for a lottery spot. I did the Bailey Hundo in June as my first endurance race. I have seen the course profile and description. Has anyone actually ridden it? Thanks for the info on the bag drop. Any info on the aid stations other than what is on the site? Thanks.

·
Registered
105 Posts