Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guy's ,

I've been riding a Hammerhead 100X for 3 years and am considering making a switch to the Turner Flux. After studying the geometry charts and reading the Turner Forum, it seems I may have discovered a bike worthy of replacing the HH with......maybe!

I love the snappiness and the razor sharp handling of the HH, but have always felt it to be a little nervous going downhill. It seems the geometry of the Flux would solve this issue with it's 1 degree slacker HT angle and slightly longer wheelbase. My concerns are that the slacker HT angle and 1.6" longer wheelbase of the Flux won't allow me to accelerate and carve single track like I've become accustomed to on the HH. Two of my favorite trails contain fast, twisty single track and tight, uphill switchbacks. All of which, I can rail on my HH. I would hate to sacrifice this for a touch more downhill stability. Also fwiw, the bike will be raced a few times a year.

So, my big question to all you Turner guru's out there is...Will the Flux handle and accellerate on par with the Hammerhead while also providing the added touch of downhill stability that I'm looking for?......(or should I just keep the HH because the 2 bikes are so similar in nature?)

Thanks everyone in advance for your input.

MOJO

·
No, that's not phonetic
14,313 Posts
Why not toss an adjustable travel fork like a Reba or Talas on the HH and just rack it out for a bit more boing up front and a slacker HA when headed downhill? That would seem to get the handling you want for the descents without possibly sacrificing the tight quarters handling you like in the HH.

Just an idea. What fork do you have now?

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have a Float 100R