Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
198 Posts
UPDATE - Corrections to my initial steps have been made. I hope this is clear now and with all of the necessary steps needed to complete this installation.

Disclaimer. I am not a bike mechanic, just mechanically inclined. I'm not afraid to tackle stuff like my Lefty or other projects. (I taught myself how to do the all plumbing from the ground up on my cottage. Yes, its all done all works too.) If you are not sure what to do and still feel tentative about doing the work, take the Lefty to your LBS if at all possible and have them do the work for you! You've been warned!

It finally came in the mail!!!

Lefty Max 140 TPC Kit.

------------------------------------------------------

The tools...

-------------------------------------------------------

...and that's all for tonight. I need to stop by the local Crappy Tire store and pick up some oil for the Lefty.

Big thanks to Mendon for finally getting it out to me. Looking forward to installing it and getting back on the bike. I'll post up and let you all know how it goes.

·
Registered
198 Posts
Well I couldn't exactly wait. So I got a head start on the work for tomorrow.

First off. Remove the Lefty from the bike. You will also need to take the top cap off. I put mine back on to keep any bits from falling out.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Remove the air bleed bolt.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Use a 22mm socket to loosen the FFD cartridge. A 22mm open ended wrench is good for un-threading it once loosened.

Next gently pull the old FFD cartridge out. There will be some resistance due to the tight tolerances and the suction from the oil. But it does pop out eventually.