Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I found a great deal on a 2012 X-Caliber on CL for $525. I tore the bike down and cleaned/rebuilt it. I also swapped the stock triple for an x7 double. The bike was obviously ridden very little and clearly spent most of it’s life inside. The problem is that it is a 15.5” frame and I think it is too small for me. I’m new to mountain biking but not cycling. I feel a bit cramped on the MTB, but I’m not sure if that is how mountain bikes should feel or I’m just used to road bikes. I’m 172cm with an 80cm inseam. I was aware that the frame was likely too small but I figured that for the price I could throw the frame in the trash and buy a new one and still come out all right.

I’m considering buying a 17.5 in X-Caliber 4 for $550. According to the Competitive Cyclist fit calculator a 17.5 is about right. I would then throw all my components on the 17.5 frame and put the components from the X-Cal 4 on the 15.5 X-Cal and give that bike to my girlfriend. I also have a bucket of x7 3x10 parts I would like to put on her bike as well.

Is there any reason this wouldn’t work or anything I should I be aware of? Will all the components swap nicely? Or should I just throw a longer stem on it and not worry about it (currently has a 75mm stem)?

Attachments

·
Registered
14,071 Posts
A setback seatpost and 80-90mm stem could make this size work for your height 5'7.75"/31.5" inseam. Your dims suggest a little shorter torso than normal for your height but 17.5 is likely your size. Wider bars will also eat up some space. 720 RXL Bontrager 15 rise carbon are on ebay from China for 50. You can probably get it dialed in and end up with a more flickable setup.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·