Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
743 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm about to get a SC bullit(WOOT!) and I was wondering how hard it is to swap components. The bike in it's current configuration is more freeride orientated, which I'm interested in. I also want to do the occasional XC ride but nothing over 20 miles or so at a time. What components should I look at swapping out for my XC rides. I know the fork is one, but specifics would be nice as I'm a noob. thanks.

·
hands up who wants to die
1,405 Posts
It's hard to answer unless you tell us what parts are on the Bullitt now.

I'd say you can do 20 mi. on pretty much any bike.
First thing I'd change is sub-900 gram tires instead of dual-ply. No DH tubes either.
70mm stems are generally nice for a FR bike that still needs to be pedalled uphill.

-r

·
Registered
868 Posts
rpet said:
It's hard to answer unless you tell us what parts are on the Bullitt now.

I'd say you can do 20 mi. on pretty much any bike.
First thing I'd change is sub-900 gram tires instead of dual-ply. No DH tubes either.
70mm stems are generally nice for a FR bike that still needs to be pedalled uphill.

-r
Yeah rpet is right on here.

"Generally" DH and FR bikes tend to have these heavy components:
7+ lbs DH forks (switch to around a 5-5.5 lbs SC)
1000+ g DH tires (switch to sub 800g "trailbike" tires)
Heavy wheels
heavy DH tubes (switch to larger XC tubes)
1 or possibly 2 ring chainguides (you probably want at least 2 rings)
Sub 60mm stems (70-90mm are decent for uphill on a heavier bike)

The tires/tubes are probably the biggest single difference. I would find a lighter wheel set and put lighter tires and tubes on it and switch back and forth... it's the easiest and makes the biggest difference.

Give us a list of the current components, and I will tell you exactly what I would do. Also tell use how much you are willing to spend and if you want to keep the heavier stuff.

·
Registered
743 Posts