Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
All you Kona owners I'm new to the sport and was thinking about getting a Kona Kikapu and was wondering about the travel of the suspension. If the manufacture says it's a 4" frame does that mean that's the max of travel or can you install longer shocks and forks?

P.S. Please don't laugh at the question.

thanks,
mtnbnewbie

·
Registered
454 Posts
You can install longer travel components but it will void the frame warranty. You don't want to do that. What type of riding are you into? Most XC race oriented bikes don't have more than 4" front and back. Describe what you want to do with a bike and we can recommend the best compromize.

·
I railed it like Kong
637 Posts
The problem is if you run a longer stroke shock your rear tire will hit your seattube and rub. If you are looking at a kikapu, 4" is enough travel for the intended riding of that specific bike. Did you find a great deal on a kikapu frame but really wanted more travel than that? The dawg would be the more versatile 5" bike to look at if you want more.

It is a good question by the way. :)

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
LeopardDog,
I appreciate the help I'm just getting into mountain biking I live in SoCal and I've just found the website GeoLadder and didn't realize how many trails there are. Couple of my buddies just bought a Kona Dawg and a Specialized. I know both bikes are at least 5" or more of travel. To tell you the truth I don't plan on doing any free riding just mainly trail riding and xc. I kinda have my eye on the Kikapu Series by Kona.

Thanks again.

mtnbnewbie.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
rkonindustry,
I guess the question is do I need 5" or more travel for riding trails and doing xc? I'm sure 4" of travel can handle small jumps on trails right?

Thanks,

mtnbnewbie

·
I railed it like Kong
637 Posts